Be careful of Rogue Traders operating nearby

Cardiff residents are being urged to be alert to rogue traders after an elderly couple handed over thousands of pounds to a man to carry out remedial work on their roof.

On 3rd January residents in the Cyncoed area, were visited at their home by men offering to carry out work on their roof. The couple were then pressured into driving to their bank, in order to withdraw monies to pay them for the work.

An investigation into the incident is ongoing.

If you have information which you think may be relevant please contact 101 or call Crimestoppers anonymously on 0800 555 111.

Advice for residents:

• Never buy goods or services or give money to cold callers at your door.

• Look out for callers at the door of your vulnerable relatives and neighbours.

• If you aren’t sure, don’t open the door

What you can do to help:

Note any vehicle registrations and keep hold of any flyers you have received through your door.

Report to Trading Standards on 02920 872059.

Remember:

If you feel intimidated or threatened by an unexpected doorstep caller contact the Police on their emergency number 999 if the caller is present or if the caller has left, then ring the non-emergency number 101.

Cardiff North Councillor of the year 2016

Fenella found out last night that she was runner-up for Cardiff North Councillor of the Year 2016.

Commenting on this achievement, Fenella said ‘I was really touched to have been nominated in the first place but I am humbled that I achieved runner-up behind such a strong councillor as Jayne Cowan. Being a councillor for Heath & Birchgrove is such a privilege and I do my best to serve the people of my Ward’.

Remember, we’re here to help residents and believe that people must come before politics.

 

 

 

Local policing contacts for Heath & Birchgrove

The policing teams within Heath & Birchgrove have been changed temporarily to accommodate staffing issues at Llanishen police station.

For the time being, the police contacts for us in Heath & Birchgrove are :

PC Paul Archer (Heath)

Force Number: 1991

Contact Number: 07805 301154

Email: Paul.Archer@south-wales.pnn.police.uk

 

PC Rhod Williams (Birchgrove & UHW)

Force Number: 4605

Contact Number: 07584 770610

Email: Rhodri.Williams2@south-wales.pnn.police.uk

 

PCSO Gareth Sims (Heath)

Force Number: 55097

Contact Number: 07805 301287

Email: Gareth.Sims2@south-wales.pnn.police.uk

 

PCSO Kevin Fox (UHW)

Force Number: 53932

Contact Number: 07584 003765

Email: Kevin.Fox@south-wales.pnn.police.uk

 

PCSO Laura Rhoden ( Birchgrove)

Force Number: 56284

Contact Number: 07584 771241

Email: Laura.Rhoden@south-wales.pnn.police.uk

 

PCSO Lindsey Thomas (UHW)

Force Number: 54356

Contact Number: 07584 883405

Email: Lindsey.Thomas@south-wales.pnn.police.uk

 

PCSO Rebecca Evans (Heath)

Force Number: 56213

Contact Number: 07584 771175

Email: Rebecca.Evans8@south-wales.pnn.police.uk

 

PCSO Steve Westlake (Birchgrove)

Contact Number: 07584 004111

Email: Stephen.Westlake@south-wales.pnn.police.uk